The Governing Board consists of :-

  • Headteacher
  • One elected staff governor
  • One appointed local authority governor
  • Two elected parent governors
  • Six foundation governors
  • Two associate governor

Link to statutory guidance :-

The standard term of office for a Governor is four years.  The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The Chair of Governors is Mr Richard Cassidy who can be contacted via the school office. 

Our Governors

Richard Cassidy- Chair of Governors / Foundation Governor

Keith Woodward – Vice Chair / Health and Safety Governor / Local Authority Governor

Jeanette Davies –  Foundation Governor

Steve O’Keeffe – Foundation Governor

Jim Clarke – Foundation Governor

Paula Thomson – Associate Governor

Gwen Pilkington – Staff Governor

Christine Lopez – Parent Governor

David Wilcox – Parent Governor

Elizabeth MacKenzie- Headteacher


School governors are the largest volunteer workforce nationally with over 300,000 school governors in England. The governing body carries out its functions with the aim of taking a largely strategic role in the running of the school.

This includes:

  • setting up a strategic framework for the school
  • setting aims and objectives for the school
  • agreeing policies and targets for achieving the objectives
  • reviewing progress and reviewing the strategic framework in the light of progress
  • ensuring accountability to stakeholders

The governing body acts as a “critical friend” to the head teacher by providing support and challenge.

The head teacher is responsible for the day-to-day, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body. The governors and head teacher work together in partnership to raise standards in the school.

All governors sign a Code of Conduct which makes clear the commitment needed and behaviour expected; they also conduct an annual Governing Body Skills Audit and Governing Body Self Review. Governors are also expected to attend training to improve their skills, and all governors at St Clare’s have
undertaken Safeguarding training.

There are types of governors:

  • Parent Governors
    Parents and carers of pupils at the school are eligible to stand for governorship at the school. Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school.  If insufficient parents stand for election, the governing body can appoint parent governors.
  • Staff Governors
    both teaching and non-teaching staff are eligible for staff governorship. Staff governors are elected by the school staff and must be paid to work at the school – volunteers are not eligible.  The head teacher is a member of the governing body by virtue of his/her office and counts as a member of the staff category.
  • Authority Governors
    LA governors are appointed by the Local Authority. In Liverpool, the City Council is the appointing body.
  • Community Governors
    Community governors are appointed by the governing body to represent community interests, including the business community.
  • Foundation Governors
    Foundation governors are appointed by the school’s founding body, usually diocese or trust. If the school has a religious character the foundation governors must preserve and develop this.
  • Sponsor Governors
    Persons who give substantial assistance to the school, financially or in kind, or who provide services to the school can be appointed by the governing body as sponsor governors.
  • Associate Members
    The governing body can appoint associate members to attend full governing body meetings in a non-voting capacity. Associate members may serve on one or more governing body committees with limited voting rights.

If you would like to contact any of the governors please send in a sealed envelope for their attention and our administration staff will pass this onto them.